List of Election 2016 Proclaimed Senators

The list of Election 2016 proclaimed Senators was finally realeased.  There are five new faces who earned a seat in Senate, four former Senators headed for few terms and there are also three re-electionists.

The list of 2016 proclaimed Senators are listed hereunder:

  1.  Senate President Franklin Drilon, vice chairman of the Liberal Party, with 18,607,391 votes.
  2.  Former TESDA director Joel Villanueva, a first-time senatorial candidate, adopted by the administration party gained 18,459,222 votes
  3.  Sen. Vicente Sotto III of the Nationalist People’s Coalition stands at third place with 17,200,371 votes.
  4.  Former Sen. Panfilo Lacson  with 16,926,152 votes
  5.  Former Senator Richard Gordon with 16,719,322 votes.
  6.  Former Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri (Independent) — 16,119,165 votes;
  7.  Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao (United Nationalist Alliance) — 16,050,546 votes;
  8.  Former Sen. Francis Pangilinan (LP) — 15,955,949 votes;
  9.  Former Akbayan Rep. Risa Hontiveros (Akbayan, adopted by LP) — 15,915,213 votes;
  10.  Valenzuela City Rep. Sherwin Gatchalian (NPC) — 14,953,768 votes;
  11.   Senate President Pro-tempore Ralph Recto (LP) — 14,271,868 votes; and
  12.  Former Justice Sec. Leila de Lima (LP) — 14,144,070 votes.

2016 proclaimed Senators

The results of 2016 proclaimed Senators are based on a total of 166 certificates of canvass transmitted from all over the country, as well as those manually prepared, including detainee and local absentee voting. This accounts for a total of 44,979,151 votes, an 81-percent turnout for this elections. Unlike in previous polls, the Commission on Elections en banc, which sat as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), decided to hold this year’s proclamation in one occasion, which comes after nine days of canvassing.

During the proclamation, two of the winning Senators – Sotto and Lacson were not present. It was not however clear why the wo senators-elect skipped the program organized by the Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers.

But in behalf of the two Senators who were out, Veteran election lawyer Romulo Macalintal received the certificate of proclamation for Sotto while former Comelec chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. took the certificate for Lacson.

 The 2016 proclaimed Senators had its proclamation pushed through despite opposition from former MMDA chairperson Francis Tolentino, an independent candidate who finished 13th based on the official count, Tolentino asked the Supreme Court to stop the proclamation of candidates ranking 10th, 11th, and 12th in this race.
Tolentino placed 13th based on partial-official tally, where he raked in 12,811,098 votes, which is more than 1.3 million votes behind De Lima.

According to reports, Tolentino disputed that  10th, 11th and 12th placer in the senatorial race should not yet be proclaimed because an alleged “data manipulation” has compromised the results of the results of the May 9 elections. He also asked the SC to direct the Comelec to open the automated election system to forensic audit and investigation to determine the nature, extent, effect, and consequences of the unauthorized manipulation of the system made by Marlon Garcia of Smartmatic, systems provider for the recently concluded polls.

In response, Bautista said “Susundin namin ang magiging direktiba [ng Korte Suprema].”

But as of writing, SC haven’t released a temporary restraining order to stop Thursday’s event which is the proclamation of 2016  Elected Senators.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *