Koko Pimentel elected as Senate President

After gaining the majority of votes, Koko Pimentel has being elected as the new Senate Presidenet.

Sen. Aquilino Pimentel III or popularly know as Koko Pimentel got a total of 20 votes after bein nominated by Sen. Tito Sotto and Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri.

Koko Pimentel

Pimentel has secured secured votes from the Senate majority coalition composed of incumbent Sens. Nancy Binay, JV Ejercito, Loren Legarda, Bam Aquino, Sonny Angara, Vicente “Tito” Sotto III, Franklin Drilon, Cynthia Villar, Gregorio “Gringo” Honasan II and Grace Poe as well as returning Sens. Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Richard “Dick” Gordon and Panfilo “Ping” Lacson. Neophyte Sens. Joel Villanueva, Sherwin Gatchalian, Risa Hontiveros, Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao and Leila De Lima also picked Pimentel.

The election was made on the opening session of the 17th Congress on Monday.

Koko Pimentel, who won over won over Ralph Recto, sought the Senate presidency after leading the campaign of his Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) party-mate President Rodrigo Duterte.

Recto was being nominated by Escudero and Trillanes, is now the Minority Floor Leader.

Meanwhile, Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano, who earlier expressed intention of leading the Senate but later withdrew, was absent during the session.

Prior to electing the Senate President, Duterte  said he would not side with either Pimentel or Cayetano in the race.

The oath taking of Koko Pimentel being the Senate President was administered by Manny Pacquiao.

The newly elected Senate President thanked his fellow Senators for voting him.

He also thanked his family, specifically his father former Senate President Aquilino “Nene” Pimentel Jr. for inspiring him to become a senator and inculcating in him “the attitude of focusing on the people.”

Koko followed the footsteps of his father, who was the country’s 19th Senate president. The older Pimentel headed the Senate from November 13, 2000 – July 23, 2001.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *